Covid-19: Bangladeshis remain barred from entering EU

Posted by

The European Union has barred citizens of Bangladesh, and of most of the countries in the world, from entering its member states, which reopened their borders from Tuesday after months of closure due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Following days of negotiations, the EU, a bloc of 27 developed European nations, agreed on Tuesday to reopen its borders to 14 countries considering the health situation of those countries with respect to coronavirus.

The countries considered safe by the EU are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Japan, Georgia, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay.

Chinese nationals will be able to enter the bloc if Beijing allows the EU residents to get in.

Foreign Minister Dr. AK Abdul Momen told Dhaka Tribune that this is a temporary measure and that there is nothing to worry about.

“It is a temporary measure under a pandemic and we are not worried about it,” he said.

Dr Momen also said, “The list will be reviewed every two weeks. When the situation (regarding Covid-19) improves, Bangladesh nationals will be able to travel to the EU countries as before.”

“We are in touch with the European Union,” he added.

“The EU decision is based on facts and figures related to the prevalence and combating the deadly virus,” said a senior official of the Foreign Ministry.

As of Tuesday, the total number of people infected by a coronavirus in Bangladesh stood at 145,483, placing it among the top 20 countries in terms of infection. With the deaths of 64 people between Monday and Tuesday, the highest in a single day, the country has recorded 1,847 fatalities since March 18.

Worldwide, the virus has infected nearly 10.5 million people and killed over half a million.

Leave a Reply