Upcoming season BPL to be renamed ‘Bangabandhu BPL’

Posted by

The upcoming season of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) will be renamed ‘Bangabandhu BPL,’ says the organizer Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB).

BCB President Nazmul Hassan made the announcement at Sher-e-Bangla Stadium at Dhaka on Wednesday (Sept 11).

He said that the renaming is in honour of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman whose birth centenary will be celebrated across the country next year.

BCB itself will be sponsoring the expenses of the teams. Under this system, the teams will be under their jurisdiction and they can bring in foreign coaches and players.

“BCB will be sponsoring all the expenses of the tournaments which will begin at the scheduled time with seven teams,” said Papon.

The BPL governing council sat met with the franchisees following the expiry of their contract after the last season.

BCB reportedly decided to sponsor the tournament after the franchisees similar to that of the Indian Premier League franchisees, wanted a majority of the profit.

The ‘Bangabandhu BPL’ is scheduled to start on Dec 3 and the matches are scheduled to kick-off on Dec 6.

Leave a Reply